.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}
Visit Freedom's Zone Donate To Project Valour

Monday, August 08, 2005

Shuttle Update

The shuttle was supposed to land shortly before 5AM this morning. Bad weather at Kennedy forced a delay. We will know somewhere around 5:30, I think, whether they're going to be allowed to try for the next slot at about 6:30AM.

Not that we're tense.

They may be. They make them drink a lot of water before dropping out of orbit. This is somehow supposed to cushion their bodies???? I hope they don't have to hold it - because speaking as a woman in her forties, if that were me flight control would be told "Sonny, clear the decks and shut up. This bird is landing NOW!"

Update: Nope. They're going to try again tomorrow. The weather is too bad in South Florida today. Space.com:
Discovery will have four landing opportunities available on Tuesday – two each at the Kennedy Space Center and Edwards AFB. The Kennedy Space Center landing opportunities will be at 5:08 a.m. and 6:43 a.m. EDT (0908 and 1043 GMT), while the Edwards AFB opportunities would occur at 8:13 a.m. and 9:48 a.m. EDT (1213 and 1348 GMT).

Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?